Dating on the Clock

Dating is work. Don’t get me wrong, you can love your “job”, but from the moment your date stops by to pick you up until they say goodnight at your doorstep,you are on the clock.

To phrase it differently, when you go on a date, there is one priority that should be larger than you: your date!

This concept was accentuated to me on Friday when I crashed my roommates’ date night.

In a strange twist of circumstances, Giselle (my other roommate) and I were invited last minute to join them.

While all who attended had a fantastic time, I was definitely more focused on the activity than anything else. After all, who doesn’t love spending hours rock climbing? The group couldn’t have torn me from those plastic holds if they’d tried.

This got me thinking: if I had gone with a date, how would it have changed my night?

Both scenarios would have been enjoyable, however the night would have had a different purpose, and the twist in the pit of my stomach told me I was more than glad that I had gone without a partner so that I could join whoever was willing to belay me.

The point of this is not to say that dating is a sacrifice, but rather that when you’re on a date, respect is essential.

its-a-mans-jobs-to-respect-a-woman-bernie-mac.jpg

Okay, here’s my two minute rant for the day to all the other women out there: DON’T dress immodestly and then wonder why you’re being objectified!

Treat the men the way you want to be treated. They won’t assume you’re in love with them, but they will appreciate and hopefully reciprocate that behavior.

In my recent post entitled Modernizing our Dating Expectations, I focus on three dating standards that are often associated with respect: gender roles in the who-asks-who for dates, payment, and opening doors.

The point of that blog post was not to rally in the defense of chivalry, but rather to say that while they’re interesting concepts to consider, some things really don’t matter as much as society make them out to be.

The fundamental principals that make people a good date are the same ones that our Mamma’s taught us at home, that we learned about in church, and that our teachers encouraged in the classroom.

tumblr_nlq0ke0O1n1tiednmo1_1280.jpg

Whether or not you’re feeling it, remember that your goal should always be to make their day better for spending time with you!

What do you think about this? Any relatable experiences? Feel free to comment below with your ideas!

XOXO Brie

 

 

Leave a Reply

